Museum Folkwang
  • HAP Grieshaber. Posters

  • Although not as numerous as his other works, Grieshaber did not treat his posters as subsidiary products. Not only did new constellations of printing blocks, partly using new colours, produce something with a certain autonomy, it was also sometimes the case that he cut printing blocks specifically for making posters. These could be adapted in terms of size, mirror images of motifs or motifs specially produced for making posters (printing blocks). Accordingly, posters play more than a subsidiary role, becoming themselves the expression of an independent artistic examination of a topic.

    Exhibition posters
    The boundaries between independent and applied art are seldom so difficult to define and the transition between an artist’s independent graphic oeuvre and his posters so blurred as is the case with the work of HAP Grieshaber. The posters for his own exhibitions in particular were produced under the same conditions as his graphic oeuvre. Colour woodcuts were his preferred printing technique. The printing blocks produced for printing his graphic oeuvre were also used for producing the posters. Here, new constellations could emerge, as the printing blocks for various different graphic works could be reassembled in a new way for a poster.
    As well as the posters for his own exhibitions, he also produced a large number of posters for other clients. These commissioned posters can be divided up into two groups: one group encompasses the posters that Grieshaber produced as colour woodcuts, and the other those where the motifs use other printing techniques, e.g. offset printing. Of course, with industrial printing processes such as offset printing it is not possible to exert an individual influence on what happens, i.e., to produce anything by hand. Accordingly, such posters cannot be considered to have equal importance.

    Political posters
    HAP Grieshaber’s first political poster dates back to 1950. ›Die Wahrheit siegt‹ (Truth conquers) announces a lecture about the impending Korean War (1950-1953); other posters followed. 1967-8 saw posters such as those condemning the military dictatorship in Greece, where his motifs could also be used by other like-minded groups. In this way, Grieshaber’s motifs were connected with particular political views and became widespread as visual representations of certain ideas. Grieshaber’s political posters identify strongly with the oppressed and a longing for freedom and democracy. The oppression that he himself had suffered under the Nazi dictatorship (1933-1945) meant that this work was based on his own experiences. His last political poster appeared in connection with the 1980 election campaign for the federal government in Germany and stated ›Demokraten wählen‹ (Vote for the democrats).

    Posters for music and the stage
    Grieshaber varied his own visual language to suit the task at hand, which resulted in memorable pieces. He took the idea of a stage setting and lent it a virtual spatial depth, implying a third dimension and distancing himself from the purely two-dimensional designs of his woodcuts.
    He also produced three posters for Württembergisches Staatstheater for the season 1972-3. There were only a few common elements in these works, but enough for them to be perceived as a series. The way that he formulated the dates and placed the texts relating to the client and the play formed the framework. In each case, Grieshaber contented himself with a single central motif which received very restrained treatment: the outline is clear, the inner structure subtly complex, thus taking account of posters’ particular function.
  • Exh_Title_S: HAP Grieshaber. Posters
  • Exh_Id: 656
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): German Poster Museum
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 242
Works
Hap Grieshaber Totentanz von Basel
Grieshaber / 15.5.–21.6.70 / Dominikanerkirche Osnabrück
Totentanz von Basel
HAP Grieshaber Bücher Grafik Plakate
Grieshaber, Holzschnitte und Lithographien
Menschenrechte für Griechenland! Amnesty International
SPD
Demokraten wählen!
Mussorgsky Boris Godunow
Tschaikowsky Schwanensee
Dallapiccola Der Gefangene

Museum Folkwang
  • HAP Grieshaber. Plakate

  • Grieshaber behandelte seine Plakate, die zahlenmäßig gegen sein übriges Werk nicht sonderlich ins Gewicht fallen, trotzdem nicht als Nebenprodukt. Nicht nur die neue Konstellation der Druckstöcke in z.T. neuen Farbvarianten erzeugte eine gewisse Eigenständigkeit, auch kam es vor, dass er Druckstöcke speziell zur Plakatherstellung schnitt. Dies konnten sowohl Größenanpassungen oder gespiegelte Motive, als auch eigens für die Plakatherstellung angefertigte Motive (Druckstöcke) sein. Damit spielt das Plakat mehr als eine begleitende Rolle, es wird selbst zum Ausdruck einer eigenständigen künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung.

    Ausstellungsplakate
    Selten sind Grenzen zwischen freier und angewandter Kunst so unklar erkennbar, Übergänge von freier Grafik zum Plakat verschwommener als im Werk von HAP Grieshaber. Vor allem Plakate für seine eigenen Ausstellungen wurden unter den gleichen Bedingungen hergestellt, wie die grafischen Arbeiten. Der Farbholzschnitt war bevorzugte Drucktechnik. Die für den Druck der Grafik hergestellten Druckstöcke wurden ebenfalls für die Herstellung der Plakate genutzt. Dabei konnten bis dahin nicht vorhandene Konstellationen entstehen, da Druckstöcke verschiedener Grafiken für ein Plakat neu zusammengestellt wurden.
    Neben den Plakaten zu seinen eigenen Ausstellungen sind ebenfalls zahlreiche Plakate für andere Auftraggeber entstanden. Diese Auftragsplakate kann man in zwei Gruppen teilen: In die Gruppe der Plakate, die Grieshaber im Farbholzschnitt herstellte, und in die durch andere Druckverfahren – z.B. im Offsetdruck – wiedergegebenen Motive. Industrielle Druckverfahren wie etwa der Offsetdruck entziehen sich natürlich der individuellen Einflussnahme, im Sinne einer händischen Herstellung beim Auflagendruck. Demzufolge müssen sie in der Betrachtungsweise auch einen anderen Stellenwert einnehmen.

    Politische Plakate
    Bereits aus dem Jahre 1950 stammt das erste politische Plakat von HAP Grieshaber. ›Die Wahrheit siegt‹ kündigt einen Vortrag über den sich abzeichnenden Koreakrieg (1950-1953) an, weitere Plakate schließen sich an. 1967/1968 folgen u.a. Plakate gegen die griechische Militärdiktatur, wobei seine Motive auch von gleichgesinnten Gruppen verwendet werden konnten. Auf diese Weise verbanden sich Grieshaber-Motive mit bestimmten politischen Haltungen und waren als visuelle Ideenträger weit verbreitet. Die politischen Plakate von Grieshaber sind von starker Solidarität mit den Unterdrückten und der Sehnsucht nach Freiheit und Demokratie getragen. Die erlebte Unterdrückung in den Jahren der NS-Diktatur (1933-1945) ließ ihn aus eigenem Erleben handeln. Als letztes politisches Plakat von seiner Hand erscheint zum Bundestagswahlkampf 1980 das Plakat ›Demokraten wählen‹.

    Plakate für Musik und Bühne
    Grieshaber variiert seine eigene Bildsprache, um sie der jeweiligen Aufgabe anzupassen und so entstanden einprägsame Arbeiten. Er übersetzt das Thema Bühnenbild in eine virtuelle räumliche Tiefe, deutet Raum an und entfernt sich von der sonst rein flächigen Gestaltung seiner Holzschnitte.
    Für das Württembergische Staatstheater entstehen in der Saison 1972/73 drei Plakate. Grieshaber erreicht durch wenige übereinstimmende Merkmale in den Arbeiten, dass man diese als Serie wahrnimmt. Die Art der Datumsnennung sowie die Platzierung der Texte von Auftraggeber und Stück bilden den Rahmen. Grieshaber begnügt sich jeweils mit einem Zentralmotiv, dessen Behandlung sehr zurückhaltend erfolgt ist: Die äußere Form ist klar, die innere Struktur verhalten kompliziert, so dass auch hier der speziellen Aufgabe des Plakats Rechnung getragen wurde.
  • Exh_Title_S: HAP Grieshaber. Plakate
  • Exh_Id: 100'656
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Deutsches Plakat Museum
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 242
Werke
Hap Grieshaber Totentanz von Basel
Grieshaber / 15.5.–21.6.70 / Dominikanerkirche Osnabrück
Totentanz von Basel
HAP Grieshaber Bücher Grafik Plakate
Grieshaber, Holzschnitte und Lithographien
Menschenrechte für Griechenland! Amnesty International
SPD
Demokraten wählen!
Mussorgsky Boris Godunow
Tschaikowsky Schwanensee
Dallapiccola Der Gefangene