Museum Folkwang
  • Paul Gangolf: ›Metropolis‹, 1922
    Image Series of 9 Lithografies on the theme ›Metropolis‹

  • Paul Gangolf (real name Paul Loewy) was an autodidact and, apart from painting, his main interest was in graphic work. As of 1914 Gangolf produced his first Expressionist woodcuts in which he reflected, amongst other things, on his experiences as a soldier in the First World War. At the beginning of the 1920s he also published several portfolios. Gangolf’s most important works include a portfolio produced in 1923, ›Großstadt‹ (City) and a series published by Malikverlag, ›Metropolis‹.
    In a review in ›Das Kunstblatt‹ the same year, Gustav Schiefler published an in-depth appreciation of the pictorial sequence and described the artist’s method of working as follows: »He has covered the block with broad chalk strokes, thus producing a base and a scaffolding from which he has scraped off the areas of light and bright spaces with a needle and a scraper, spreading out a kind of shimmering fabric over the dark parts of the background.« In terms of style this sequence of nine lithographs displays a certain similarity to the work of George Grosz, particularly in the figure scenes.
    Gustav Schiefler and Paul Gangolf agreed that Schiefler would produce a catalogue raisonné of Gangolf’s prints – as he had done before for the print oeuvre of Max Liebermann, Edvard Munch, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner and Emil Nolde. This too evidences Schiefler’s high opinion of Gangolf’s oeuvre. Schiefler’s death in 1935 put an end to these already far advanced plans. That same year Gangolf was arrested in Berlin for criticizing the regime and was detained in a concentration camp for some time. He later emigrated to Portugal and was shot dead at the border attempting to return to Germany illegally in 1939.
  • Exh_Title_S: Paul Gangolf: ›Metropolis‹, 1922
    Image Series of 9 Lithografies on the theme ›Metropolis‹
  • Exh_Id: 537
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Department of Prints and Drawings
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 186
Works
Brücke
Warenhaus
Zoo
Der Morgen
Café
Der Abend
Die Nacht
Straße
Der Hafen

Museum Folkwang
  • Paul Gangolf: ›Metropolis‹, 1922
    Bildfolge von 9 Lithografien zum Thema ›Metropolis‹

  • Paul Gangolf (eigentlich Paul Loewy) war Autodidakt und schuf neben Gemälden vor allem grafische Arbeiten. Ab 1914 entstanden erste expressionistische Holzschnitte, in denen Gangolf unter anderem seine Erlebnisse als Soldat im Ersten Weltkrieg reflektierte. Zu Beginn der 1920er Jahre veröffentlichte er mehrere Mappenwerke. Neben der 1923 entstandenen Mappe ›Großstadt‹ gehört die im Malikverlag erschienene Serie ›Metropolis‹ zu Gangolfs wichtigsten Werken.
    Gustav Schiefler hat in einer Besprechung in ›Das Kunstblatt‹ noch im gleichen Jahr die Bildfolge eingehend gewürdigt und die Arbeitsweise des Künstlers beschrieben: »Mit breiten Kreidestrichen ist er auf der Platte herumgefahren und hat damit zugleich ein Fundament geschaffen und ein Gerüst gebaut, aus denen er mit Nadel und Schaber die Lichtflecken und hellen Partien herausgearbeitet hat, eine Art flirrenden Gewebes über die dunklen Partien des Grundes breitend.« Stilistisch weist die Folge von neun Lithographien vor allem in den Figurenszenen eine gewisse Verwandtschaft zu Arbeiten von George Grosz auf.
    Gustav Schiefler und Paul Gangolf verabredeten, dass Schiefler ein Werkverzeichnis der Druckgrafik Gangolfs erstellt – wie er es zuvor schon für das druckgrafische Oeuvre von Max Liebermann, Edvard Munch, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner und Emil Nolde unternommen hatte. Auch dies zeugt von der hohen Wertschätzung, die Schiefler dem Schaffen Gangolfs entgegenbrachte. Der Tod Gustav Schieflers im Jahr 1935 vereitelte diese damals schon weit gediehenen Pläne. Noch im gleichen Jahr wurde Gangolf in Berlin wegen regimekritischer Äußerungen verhaftet und zeitweise in einem Konzentrationslager inhaftiert. Später emigrierte er nach Portugal und wurde 1939 bei dem Versuch, illegal nach Deutschland zurückzukehren, an der Grenze erschossen.
  • Exh_Title_S: Paul Gangolf: ›Metropolis‹, 1922
    Bildfolge von 9 Lithografien zum Thema ›Metropolis‹
  • Exh_Id: 100'537
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Grafische Sammlung
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 186
Werke
Brücke
Warenhaus
Zoo
Der Morgen
Café
Der Abend
Die Nacht
Straße
Der Hafen