Museum Folkwang
  • Javanese Shadow Theatre

  • Shadow puppets are known on the two Indonesian islands of Java and Bali as well as a few other islands. The shadow (wayang) of the puppet cut from leather (kulit) brings to life ancient, existential stories in a ›wayang kulit‹ presentation. The exact origins of ›wayang kulit‹ are not known. It is mentioned for the first time in the old Javanese poem ›Arjunawiwaha‹ from the early 11th century in which is written that everything perceived is an illusion, like the shadows in a shadow puppet theater. The stories, still part of the repertoire today, had already been recounted in stone relief on temples from Java’s Hindu-Buddhist period from the 9th century.
    Most of the historical ›wayang kulit‹ sets known today come from the 19th and early 20th century. The ›wayang‹ figures can be distinguished through various characteristics: while female figures from Solo wear a train which hangs to the back, female figures from Yogya wear a train which hangs to the front. In earlier times, ›wayang‹ was presented as part of a ceremonial ritual, for example, for the birth of a child, a wedding or inaugurating a house.
    An original shadow puppet presentation begins at about 7 in the evening and usually lasts until about 5 the next morning. A large screen is hung from a horizontal banana tree branch, in which the figures from the sets are placed, the ›evil‹ to the right and the ›noble‹ to the left (as seen from the front of the screen. The puppet master, ›dalang‹, sits behind the screen; next to him, on a wooden box, on the ca 50 figures he will need during the presentation. Behind him is the ›gamelan‹ orchestra of metallophones, gongs and other instruments. The oil lamps, ›blencong‹ hung behind the screen create the shadow of the puppet on the screen during the presentation.
    The stories (lakon) that serve as models for a ›wayang‹ presentation come from the Hindu-Buddhist context. ›Wayang‹ was, however, integrated into the Islamic religion that had established itself as the ruling belief in Java and a large part of Indonesia from the beginning of the 16th century. The core of the ›lakon‹ plot is the unification of the human with the divine, which was also the aim of the Sufist orientation of the Islam originally introduced in Java. To this extent, the Hindu-Buddhist themes do not conflict with Islamic practice.
  • Exh_Title_S: Javanese Shadow Theatre
  • Exh_Id: 509
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Archaeology, Global Art, Applied Arts
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 185
Works
Nalagareng
  • Java
  • Nalagareng, undatiert

  • Shadow puppet for Wayang Kulit Theatre
    Nalagareng (Nala Gareng) is one of the jokers (panakawan) who accompany the nobles in Mahabharata, often caricaturing their behavior. Nalagareng is held to be a conceited, grotesque idiot.
  • Inv. K 810
Prabu Kresna
  • Java
  • Prabu Kresna, undatiert

  • Shadow puppet for Wayang Kulit Theatre
    Kresna is an incarnation of the God Wishnu. He appears in Mahabharata as advisor to the five noble Pandawa brothers.
  • Inv. K 780
Semar
  • Java
  • Semar, undatiert

  • Shadow puppet for Wayang Kulit Theatre
    Semar is the father of Petruk and Nalagareng and as panakawan accompanies helpfully and comically the good, together with his two sons. Semar is the grandchild of Hyang Ismaya and also his incarnation. He has enormous magical powers. Hyang Ismaya is a divine brother of Batara Guru.
  • Inv. K 831

Museum Folkwang
  • Javanisches Schattenspiel

  • Das Schattenspiel ist auf den beiden zu Indonesien gehörigen Inseln Java und Bali sowie auf einigen anderen Inseln bekannt. Die Schatten (wayang) der aus Leder (kulit) geschnitzten Puppen erwecken in einer ›wayang kulit‹-Aufführung uralte Geschichten mit existenziellen Bedeutungen zum Leben. Der genaue Ursprung des ›wayang kulit‹ ist nicht bekannt. Erstmalig erwähnt wird es im altjavanischen Gedicht ›Arjunawiwaha‹ aus dem frühen 11. Jahrhundert. Darin wird gelehrt, dass alles im Leben Wahrgenommene Illusion ist, genauso wie die Schatten im Schattenspiel. Die bis heute gespielten Geschichten wurden bereits an den Tempeln der hindu-buddhistischen Periode Javas seit dem 9. Jahrhundert in steinerne Reliefs dargestellt.
    Die meisten der heute bekannten historischen ›wayang kulit‹-Sets stammen aus dem 19. oder frühen 20. Jahrhundert. Die ›wayang‹-Figuren unterscheiden sich durch diverse Merkmale: Während z.B. die weiblichen Figuren aus Solo eine nach hinten hängende Gewandschleppe tragen, hängt sie bei den Figuren aus Yogya nach vorne.
    In früheren Zeiten wurde ›wayang‹ im Rahmen von glückverheißenden Ritualen aufgeführt, etwa anlässlich der Geburt eines Kindes, einer Hochzeit oder der Einweihung eines Hauses.
    Eine originale Schattenspielaufführung beginnt gegen 19 Uhr und endet häufig erst gegen 5 Uhr am nächsten Tag. Eine breite Leinwand ist aufgespannt über einem quer liegenden Bananenstamm, in den die Figuren des Sets gesteckt sind, rechts die ›Bösen‹ und links die ›Edlen‹ (von der Vorderseite der Leinwand aus gesehen). Hinter der Leinwand sitzt der Puppenspieler ›dalang‹, neben ihm in einer Holzkiste liegen die rund 50 Figuren bereit, die er während des Spiels braucht. Hinter ihm ist das ›gamelan‹-Orchester aufgebaut, bestehend aus Metallophonen, Gongs und anderen Instrumenten. Die hinter der Leinwand aufgehängte Öllampe ›blencong‹ wirft während des Spiels die Schatten der Puppen auf die Leinwand.

    Die Geschichten (lakon), die als Vorlage für eine ›wayang‹-Aufführung dienen, entstammen dem hindu-buddhistischen Kontext. Das ›wayang‹ wurde jedoch in den Rahmen der islamischen Religion integriert, die sich ab Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts in Java und im größten Teil Indonesiens als die beherrschende Religion etabliert hat. Der Kern der ›lakon‹-Themen ist die Vereinigung des Menschen mit dem Göttlichen, welche ebenso das Ziel der sufistischen Ausrichtung ist, mit der der Islam ursprünglich in Java eingeführt wurde. Insofern stehen die hindu-buddhistischen Themen keineswegs im Gegensatz zur islamischen Praxis.
  • Exh_Title_S: Javanisches Schattenspiel
  • Exh_Id: 100'509
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Archäologie, Weltkunst, Kunstgewerbe
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 185
Werke
Nalagareng
  • Java
  • Nalagareng, undatiert

  • Schattenspielfigur für das Wayang Kulit-Theater
    Nalagareng (Nala Gareng) ist einer der Spaßmacher (panakawan), die die Edlen im Mahabharata begleiten und ihr Verhalten oft karikieren. Er gilt als eingebildeter, grotesker Dummkopf.
  • Inv.-Nr. K 810
Prabu Kresna
  • Java
  • Prabu Kresna, undatiert

  • Schattenspielfigur für das Wayang Kulit-Theater
    Kresna ist eine Inkarnation des Gottes Wishnu. Er tritt im Mahabharata als Berater der fünf edlen Pandawa-Brüder auf.
  • Inv.-Nr. K 780
Semar
  • Java
  • Semar, undatiert

  • Schattenspielfigur für das Wayang Kulit-Theater
    Semar ist der Vater von Petruk und Nalagareng und begleitet als Spaßmacher (panakawan) mit seinen beiden Söhnen hilfreich und komisch das Gute. Er ist ein Enkel von Hyang Ismaya und zugleich dessen Inkarnation. Er verfügt über enorme magische Kräfte.
  • Inv.-Nr. K 831