Museum Folkwang
  • Ozeanica

  • Museum Folkwang boasts a small, select collection of 19 works by Melanesian artists, most of which were added to the inventory around 1915. Most of these come from Papua New Guinea, an island state that has been independent since 1975 and whose northern territories were part of the German colonial empire from 1884 through 1914.
    The largest coherent group of works consists of seven sculptures from the island of New Ireland located in the north east of this state. Franz Wiesner, a civil servant born in Hagen and serving as an imperial police chief for the German colonial administration of Papua New Guinea, presented them to Osthaus through the mediation of Ada and Emil Nolde.

    Malagans are multi-coloured, highly diverse carvings, usually involving openwork. Often the artists combined human forms with others from the worlds of animals and plants. These carvings, which were sometimes assembled from different elements, were given additional depth and vivacity by means of elaborate painting.
    The production process was divided up into phases and could take several weeks or even months. It was conducted by specialists who were paid in shell money. The artists’ work was considered dangerous because it involved contact with otherworldly beings.
    The carvings – both the malagans and the uli – were used in the context of large-scale memorial ceremonies for the dead. They were popular at the time when the rituals were conducted and, in the case of the malagan carvings, they were presented in show huts or on meter-high walls, as the medium through which the dead could finally enter the afterworld. In this way, their spiritual power could be passed on to their descendants. Malagan figures in human shape used in rituals could represent recently departed relations, ancestors who died a long time ago or even the life-force that is transmitted from generation to generation.
    Two other malagan figures can also be identified by their formal and stylistic characteristics. They probably belong to the Marada sub-tradition that is associated with rain magic. This was important not only with regard to fertility and ensuring fruitful plant cycles, but moreover was an indispensable component of all rituals. As a rule, families or sub-clans who had the rights to Marada were also the guardians of rainmaker groves, where not only carved figures but also the skulls of famous deceased rain conjurers were kept in large bowls made of tridacna shells (cf. the blossom-like ornament on which the two figures were kept).

    Important examples of a sub-clan were horizontal friezes known as kobokobor. The presentation of such friezes meant that the recipient had reached the ranks of a ritual leader. The horizontal frieze in Museum Folkwang’s collection features three male figures between whom two so-called »eyes of fire« (mataling) are portrayed. This enables the sculpture to be identified as a kobokobor from the Valik sub-tradition. In earlier days, according to ritual use, friezes of this kind were sometimes hung up at initiation houses.
  • Exh_Title_S: Ozeanica
  • Exh_Id: 503
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Archaeology, Global Art, Applied Arts
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 185
Works
Malagan-Figur
  • Oceania
  • Malagan-Figur, Anfang 20. Jh.

  • Malagan Figure
  • Anthrpomorphic figure as metaphorical embodiment of the vitality, passed on from generation to generation, of the clan possessing the figure.
  • Inv. K 616
Malagan-Figur
  • Oceania
  • Malagan-Figur, around 1912

  • Malagan Figure
  • Anthropormorphic male figure used in ancester and mortuary cults and part of the tradition of rain magic.
  • Inv. K 618
Malagan-Figur
  • Oceania
  • Malagan-Figur, before 1912

  • Malagan Figure
  • Anthropormorphic male figure used in ancester and mortuary cults and part of the tradition of rain magic
  • Inv. K 623
Malagan-Fries
  • Oceania
  • Malagan-Fries, Anfang 20. Jh.

  • Malagan Frieze
  • Horizontal friezes with anthropmorphic figures such as this are among the most important malagan of a subclan’s ritual property.
  • Inv. K 624

Museum Folkwang
  • Ozeanien

  • Das Museum Folkwang verfügt über eine kleine, erlesene Sammlung von neunzehn Werken melanesischer Künstler, die größtenteils um 1915 den Beständen hinzugefügt wurden. Sie stammen mehrheitlich aus Papua Neuguinea, einem seit 1975 unabhängigen Inselstaat, dessen nördliche Gebiete von 1884 bis 1914 Teil des deutschen Kolonialreichs waren.
    Die größte zusammenhängende Werkgruppe besteht aus sieben Skulpturen von der im Nordosten dieses Staates gelegenen Insel Neuirland. Franz Wiesner, ein in Hagen gebürtiger und von 1912 bis 1914 als kaiserlicher Polizeimeister im Dienste der deutschen Kolonialverwaltung Neuguineas stehender Beamter, machte sie Osthaus durch die Vermittlung von Ada und Emil Nolde zum Geschenk.

    Malagan sind mehrfarbig gestaltete, meist durchbrochen gearbeitete Schnitzereien von großer Variabilität. Oft kombinierten die Künstler menschliche Formen mit solchen aus der Tier- und Pflanzenwelt, wobei sie den geschnitzten, zuweilen auch zusammengesetzten Figuren durch aufwendige Bemalungen zusätzliche Tiefe und Lebendigkeit verliehen.
    Der in Phasen gegliederte, mehrere Wochen oder Monate dauernde Herstellungsprozess erfolgte unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit durch mit Muschelgeld entlöhnte Spezialisten. Die Arbeit der Künstler galt als gefährlich, weil sie dabei in Kontakt mit jenseitigen Wesen gerieten.
    Die Schnitzereien – sowohl die malagan als auch die uli – wurden im Rahmen groß angelegter Totengedenkfeiern eingesetzt. Sie galten zum Zeitpunkt des Rituals als beliebt und im Falle der malagan-Schnitzereien, die man in Schauhütten oder an meterhohen Wänden präsentierte, als das Medium, durch das die Toten endgültig ins Jenseits eingehen können. Ihre spirituelle Kraft überträgt sich so an die Nachfahren. Im Ritual verwendete malagan-Figuren menschlicher Gestalt konnten dabei kürzlich dahingeschiedene Verwandte, vor langer Zeit verstorbene Ahnen oder auch die sich von Generation zu Generation übertragende Lebenskraft repräsentieren.
    Zwei weitere Malagan-Figuren lassen sich aufgrund ihrer formalen und stilistischen Merkmale ebenfalls identifizieren. Sie gehören wahrscheinlich der Subtradition Marada an, die mit Regenmagie in Zusammenhang gebracht wird. Sie war nicht nur in Bezug auf Fruchtbarkeit und die Sicherstellung erfolgreicher Pflanzzyklen von Bedeutung, sondern darüber hinaus unverzichtbarer Bestandteil aller Rituale. Familien bzw. Subklane, die Rechte an Marada hatten, waren in der Regel auch Hüter von Regenmacherhainen, in denen neben geschnitzten Figuren die Schädel von berühmten verstorbenen Regenzauberern in großen Schalen der Tridacna-Muschel (vgl. das blütenartige Ornament, auf dem die beiden Figuren aufbewahrt wurden).

    Zu den wichtigsten Exemplaren eines Subklans gehörten horizontale, als kobokobor bezeichnete Friese, deren Übergabe den Aufstieg des Empfängers in den Rang eines Ritualführers signalisierte. Der waagrechte Fries in der Sammlung des Museum Folkwang zeichnet sich durch drei männliche Figuren aus, zwischen denen zwei so genannte ›Feueraugen‹ (mataling) dargestellt sind und aufgrund derer die Skulptur sich als kobokobor der Subtradition Valik zuordnen lässt. Nach dem rituellen Gebrauch hängte man Friese dieser Art früher zuweilen auch an Initiationshäusern auf.
  • Exh_Title_S: Ozeanien
  • Exh_Id: 100'503
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Archäologie, Weltkunst, Kunstgewerbe
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 185
Werke
Malagan-Figur
  • Ozeanien
  • Malagan-Figur, Anfang 20. Jh.

  • Anthropomorphe Figur als bildliche Verkörperung der sich von Generation zu Generation übertragenden Lebenskraft des Klans, der die Figur besitzt.
  • Inv.-Nr. K 616
Malagan-Figur
  • Ozeanien
  • Malagan-Figur, um 1912

  • Anthropomorphe männliche Figur, die in den Ritualen des Ahnen- und Totenkultes Verwendung fand und in der Tradition der Regenmagie steht.
  • Inv.-Nr. K 618
Malagan-Figur
  • Ozeanien
  • Malagan-Figur, vor 1912

  • Anthropomorphe männliche Figur, die in den Ritualen des Ahnen- und Totenkultes Verwendung fand und in der Tradition der Regenmagie steht.
  • Inv.-Nr. K 623
Malagan-Fries
  • Ozeanien
  • Malagan-Fries, Anfang 20. Jh.

  • Waagrechter Fries mit anthropomorphen Figuren; diese Art zählt zu den wichtigsten malagan im Ritualbesitz eines Subklans.
  • Inv.-Nr. K 624