Museum Folkwang
  • Vincent van Gogh
    at Museum Folkwang

  • Karl Ernst Osthaus was the first German museum director to acquire works by the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh. Between 1902 and 1905 he purchased three of the artist’s paintings. In an exchange with Henry van de Velde, Osthaus developed a good feel for contemporary art and as of 1902 collected works not only by van Gogh but also by artists such as Gauguin, Daumier, Renoir and Cézanne. When 18 van Gogh paintings were sent to Hagen on approval in 1902 by an art dealer, Paul Cassirer, this was very probably organized by van de Velde. This Flemish artist saw van Gogh’s estate when visiting Theo van Gogh’s widow in Bussum and enthusiastically suggested that Osthaus, who was a friend of his, should initially purchase two of these works. As of 1903 Osthaus also started collecting drawings by the artist; he acquired his first sketches from an art dealer in Paris, Ambroise Vollard, including ›Peasant Woman, Stooping and Gleaning‹ (1885).

    The paintings acquired in 1902 include the unusually clear ›Portrait of Armand Roulin‹ (1888), with its rich contrasts. One art historian, Julius Meier-Graefe, described the innovative painting techniques in this picture, after seeing it in Hagen: »The picture uses thin paint, not at all like the others. The colours are: a blue hat, a green background in the colours of water, everything in unified yellow and blue. The execution is consummate, not at all artificial.« Van Gogh had made friends with the young man’s father in Arles, as numerous portraits of him and his family demonstrate.

    Another masterpiece by van Gogh is the painting ›A Corner of the Asylum and the Garden with a Heavy, Sawed-Off Tree‹ (1889), showing the garden, surrounded by a natural stone wall, at the institution sought out by the artist in 1889 because of his acute mood swings. We know from a letter to Émile Bernard about the strong effect the asylum’s park exerted on the artist. In ›A Corner of the Asylum and the Garden with a Heavy, Sawed-Off Tree‹ van Gogh atmospherically evokes a landscape shaped by the weather and the seasons.

    On the other side of the natural stone wall surrounding the garden a vista opens up over a wide plain in front of a hilly landscape. Van Gogh could see this daily from his window. The fields of sulphurous yellow served as his inspiration for wonderful pictures such as ›The Wheatfield behind Saint Paul's Hospital with a Reaper‹ (1889). He varied this motif on several occasions, in paintings and drawings.

    In the fall of 1905 Karl Ernst Osthaus showed 11 paintings and three drawings by van Gogh at Museum Folkwang, works he had received through the mediation of Ms. Cohen-Gosschalk-Bonger as the representative of the van Gogh family. We can assume that it was from this assortment that the collector acquired the painting ›A Corner of the Asylum and the Garden with a Heavy, Sawed-Off Tree‹ plus a selection of the drawings that have remained in the museum’s collection to this day, for instance ›Enclosed Field with a Sawer in the Rain‹ (1890) or ›The Plain of La Crau‹ (1888).

    By contrast, the painting ›Quay with Men Unloading Sand Barges‹ (1888) was bought by Ernst Gosebruch in 1912 from art dealer Eugène Druet in Paris for the Essen art museum, in a bold move encouraged by the example set by Karl Ernst Osthaus in Hagen. The busy procedure of unloading the skiffs at the quay on the river Rhône held an especial fascination for van Gogh.

    At the time of their acquisition works by van Gogh and other contemporary French artists such as Honoré Daumier, Paul Gauguin, Auguste Renoir and Paul Cézanne were not yet recognized as those »classics« that, by working through the problems of their own age in an exemplary fashion, were to exert a fundamental influence on Modern art. It is all the more impressive how rapidly Karl Ernst Osthaus recognized the potential shown by these artists to act as the most eloquent representatives of the creative power of their epoch and of its changes. Because of its completely new painting techniques, van Gogh’s oeuvre attracted particular attention. Osthaus had already exhibited ›Enclosed Field with a Sawer in the Rain‹ as the first work by van Gogh acquired at the museum’s opening in 1902. Together with Renoir’s ›Lise‹ (1867) and van Gogh’s works, Museum Folkwang houses testimonials both to the start of Impressionism and to the time of its demise.
  • Exh_Title_S: Vincent van Gogh
    at Museum Folkwang
  • Exh_Id: 1,633
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Painting, Sculpture, Media Art
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 187
Works
Portrait d'Armand Roulin
Le parc de l'hôpital, à Saint-Rémy
La moisson
Les bateaux amarrés
Paysanne arrachant de l'herbe
Vue de la Crau
  • Vincent van Gogh
  • Vue de la Crau, 1888

  • The Plain of La Crau
  • View from the Montmajour Abbey, near Arles, towards the Montagne des Cordes
  • Inv. C 159
Paysage avec cyprès
La pluie

Museum Folkwang
  • Vincent van Gogh
    im Museum Folkwang

  • Karl Ernst Osthaus ist der erste deutsche Museumsdirektor, der Werke des niederländischen Malers Vincent van Gogh ankauft. Zwischen 1902 und 1905 erwirbt er drei Gemälde des Künstlers. In engem Austausch mit Henry van de Velde entwickelt Osthaus ein sicheres Gespür für zeitgenössische Malerei und sammelt ab 1902 neben van Gogh auch Künstler wie Gauguin, Daumier, Renoir und Cézanne. Die Übersendung von 18 van Gogh-Gemälden zur Ansicht nach Hagen 1902 durch den Kunsthändler Paul Cassirer geschieht aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach auf Veranlassung van de Veldes. Der belgisch-flämische Künstler sieht bei einem Besuch der Witwe Theo van Goghs in Bussum den Nachlass von Vincent van Gogh und rät dem befreundeten Osthaus begeistert zum Kauf zunächst zweier Werke. Ab 1903 sammelt Osthaus auch Zeichnungen des Künstlers; die ersten Blätter erwirbt er von dem Kunsthändler Ambroise Vollard in Paris, darunter auch ›Paysanne arrachant de l'herbe‹ (1885).
    Unter den 1902 erworbenen Gemälden befindet sich das ungewöhnlich klare, in der Farbgebung kontrastreiche ›Portrait d‘Armand Roulin‹ (1888). Der Kunsthistoriker Julius Meier-Graefe beschreibt die Neuerungen in der Malerei dieses Bildes, nachdem er es in Hagen gesehen hatte: »Das Bild ist dünn gemalt, absolut nicht wie die anderen. Die Farben sind: blauer Hut, grüner Hintergrund in den Farben des Wassers, alles vereint in gelb und blau. Die Ausführung ist vollendet, nirgends künstlich.« Van Gogh hatte sich in Arles mit dem Vater des jungen Mannes angefreundet; zahlreiche Porträts von ihm und seiner Familie zeugen davon.

    Ein weiteres Meisterwerk van Goghs ist das Gemälde ›Le parc de l’hôpital, à Saint Rémy‹ (1889), das den von einer Natursteinmauer umfriedeten Garten der Krankenanstalt zeigt, die van Gogh 1889 wegen akuter Gemütsveränderung aufsuchte. Wir wissen durch einen Brief an Émile Bernard von der starken Wirkung des zur Nerven-Heilanstalt gehörenden Parks auf den Künstler. In ›Le parc de l’hôpital, à Saint Rémy‹ gibt er eine von Wetter und Jahreszeit geprägte Landschaft stimmungsvoll wieder.

    Auf der anderen Seite der den Garten umgebenden Natursteinmauer öffnet sich der Blick auf eine weite Ebene vor hügeliger Landschaft. Van Gogh konnte sie täglich aus seinem Fenster beobachten. Die schwefelgelben Felder regten ihn zu so wunderbaren Gemälden wie ›La moisson‹ (1889) an. Er hat dieses Motiv mehrfach in Gemälden und Zeichnungen variiert.

    Im Herbst 1905 zeigt Karl Ernst Osthaus 11 Gemälde und 3 Zeichnungen van Goghs im Museum Folkwang, die er über Frau Cohen-Gosschalk-Bonger als Vertreterin der Familie van Gogh erhält. Es ist zu vermuten, dass der Sammler aus diesem Konvolut das Gemälde ›Le parc de l’hôpital, à Saint Rémy‹ sowie eine Auswahl der bis heute in Museumsbesitz befindlichen Zeichnungen erwarb, so etwa ›La pluie‹ (1890) oder ›Vue de la Crau‹ (1888).

    Das Gemälde ›Les bateaux amarrés‹ (1888) kaufte hingegen Ernst Gosebruch 1912 bei dem Kunsthändler Eugène Druet in Paris für das Essener Kunstmuseum, mutig und angespornt durch das Beispiel Karl Ernst Osthaus‘ in Hagen. Der rührige Vorgang des Entladens der am Kai befestigten Rhônebarken inmitten einer leicht bewegten Wasserfläche hatte eine besondere Faszination auf van Gogh ausgeübt.

    Zur Zeit ihres Ankaufs galten Werke van Goghs und anderer zeitgenössischer französischer Künstler wie Honoré Daumier, Paul Gauguin, Auguste Renoir oder Paul Cézanne noch nicht als die »Klassiker«, die in exemplarischer Weise die Problematik ihrer Epoche ausarbeiteten und dadurch die Kunst der Moderne maßgebend beeinflussen sollten. Umso beeindruckender ist es, wie schnell Karl Ernst Osthaus in diesen Künstlern das Potenzial erkannte, die schöpferischen Kräfte ihrer Epoche und deren Wandel am stärksten zu repräsentieren. Werke van Goghs erregten dabei durch ihre völlige Neuartigkeit der Malerei besonderes Aufsehen. Osthaus stellte ›La moisson‹ als erstes angekauftes Werk van Goghs bereits bei der Eröffnung des Museums 1902 aus. Mit der ›Lise‹ Renoirs (1867) und Werken van Goghs befinden sich im Museum Folkwang Zeugnisse sowohl des beginnenden Impressionismus als auch der Zeit dessen Überwindung.
  • Exh_Title_S: Vincent van Gogh
    im Museum Folkwang
  • Exh_Id: 101'633
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Malerei, Skulptur, Medienkunst
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 187
Werke
Portrait d'Armand Roulin
Le parc de l'hôpital, à Saint-Rémy
La moisson
Les bateaux amarrés
Paysanne arrachant de l'herbe
Vue de la Crau
  • Vincent van Gogh
  • Vue de la Crau, 1888

  • Ansicht der Crau
  • Blick von der nahe Arles gelegenen Abtei Montmajour auf die Montagne des Cordes
  • Inv.-Nr. C 159
Paysage avec cyprès
La pluie