Museum Folkwang
Usha Umbrella Stand
  • Simon Starling
  • Usha Umbrella Stand, 2008

  • part of ›Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations‹
  • Platinum/palladium print
  • Acquired in 2008 with support of the Ernst und Elly Henke-Stiftung, Essen
  • Inv. P 306/12
  • CommentaryWhile the design for the Umbrella stand for the entrance hall of Manik Bagh Palace, Indore is today attributed to the palace’s architect, Eckart Muthesius, around 1934 the Italian architect and designer Agnoldomenico Pica (born 1907) developed a similar umbrella stand made of an open metal band. It is believed that the original umbrella stand for the palace might have been purchased in Paris.

    The name Usha (divine daughter) was perhaps a reference to the daughter of the Maharaja, Maharini Usha Devi. Usha is also a goddess of Hindu mythology commonly understood to welcome birds and ward off evil spirits. Maharini Usha Devi also has a cricket ground named after her.

    Muthesius’ furniture designs for Manik Bagh Palace owe much to the highly polished metal forms of his friend, Constantin Brancusi. He was also heavily influenced by the work of Naum Gabo and Laszlo Moholy-Nagy that was exhibited in Berlin in the early 1930’s. 1934 was also the year of the ›Machine Art‹ exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art, New York, an exhibition that showcased a large number of industrially manufactured products with clear affinities to the young architect’s work.
  • Provenance2008, Galleria Franco Noero, Turin
  • Obj_Id: 31,210
  • Obj_Internet_S: ja
  • Obj_Ownership_S (Verantw):Painting, Sculpture, Media Art
  • Obj_SpareNField01_N (Verantw): 188
  • Obj_Creditline_S: Musuem Folkwang, Essen, Skulpturensammlung
  • Obj_Title1_S: Usha Umbrella Stand
  • Obj_Title2_S:
  • Obj_PartDescription_S (Titelerg): part of ›Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations‹
  • Obj_SpareMField01_M (Alle Titel): Usha Umbrella Stand part of ›Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations‹ Usha Umbrella Stand Usha Schirmständer aus der Installation: Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations
  • Obj_Dating_S: 2008
  • Jahr von: 2,008
  • Jahr bis: 2,008
  • Obj_IdentNr_S: P 306/12
  • Obj_IdentNrSort_S: P 306/12
  • Obj_Classification_S (Objtyp): Photography
  • Obj_Crate_S:
  • Obj_Material_S: Platinum/palladium print
  • Obj_Technique_S:
  • Obj_SpareSField01_S (Mat./Tech.): Platinum/palladium print
  • Obj_AccNote_S (Erwerb): Acquired in 2008 with support of the Ernst und Elly Henke-Stiftung, Essen
  • Obj_PermanentLocation_S (Standort):
  • Obj_Condition1_S (Druckerei):
  • Obj_Condition2_S (Auflage):
  • Obj_Subtype_S (Genre):
  • Obj_Rights_S: © Simon Starling, 2010
Commentary
Artists
Provenance

While the design for the Umbrella stand for the entrance hall of Manik Bagh Palace, Indore is today attributed to the palace’s architect, Eckart Muthesius, around 1934 the Italian architect and designer Agnoldomenico Pica (born 1907) developed a similar umbrella stand made of an open metal band. It is believed that the original umbrella stand for the palace might have been purchased in Paris.

The name Usha (divine daughter) was perhaps a reference to the daughter of the Maharaja, Maharini Usha Devi. Usha is also a goddess of Hindu mythology commonly understood to welcome birds and ward off evil spirits. Maharini Usha Devi also has a cricket ground named after her.

Muthesius’ furniture designs for Manik Bagh Palace owe much to the highly polished metal forms of his friend, Constantin Brancusi. He was also heavily influenced by the work of Naum Gabo and Laszlo Moholy-Nagy that was exhibited in Berlin in the early 1930’s. 1934 was also the year of the ›Machine Art‹ exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art, New York, an exhibition that showcased a large number of industrially manufactured products with clear affinities to the young architect’s work.

Museum Folkwang
Usha Umbrella Stand
  • Simon Starling
  • Usha Umbrella Stand, 2008

  • Usha Schirmständer
  • aus der Installation: Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations
  • Platin/Palladiumdruck
  • Erworben 2008 mit Unterstützung der Ernst und Elly Henke-Stiftung, Essen
  • Inv.-Nr. P 306/12
  • Text zum WerkWährend das Design für den Schirmständer für die Eingangshalle des Manik Bagh Palastes in Indore heute dem Architekten des Palastes Eckart Muthesius zugeschrieben wird, hat der italienische Architekt und Designer Agnoldomenico Pica (* 1907) um 1934 einen ähnlichen, aus einem offenen Metallband bestehenden Schirmständer entworfen. Man geht davon aus, dass der ursprüngliche Schirmständer für den Palast möglicherweise in Paris erworben wurde.

    Der Name Usha (himmlische Tochter) war vielleicht ein Verweis auf die Tochter des Maharadschas und der Maharani Usha Devi. Usha ist überdies eine Göttin der hinduistischen Mythologie, die die Vögel willkommen heißt und böse Geister vertreibt. Die Maharini Usha Devi verfügte zudem über einen Cricket-Platz, der nach ihr benannt war.

    Die Möbelentwürfe von Eckart Muthesius für den Manik Bagh Palast verdanken viel den hochpolierten Metallkörpern seines Freundes Constantin Brancusi. Stark beeinflusst war Muthesius überdies durch die Arbeiten von Naum Gabo und Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, die in den frühen 1930er Jahren in Berlin ausgestellt wurden. 1934 fand zudem die Ausstellung ›Machine Art‹ im Museum of Modern Art, New York, statt, die eine große Anzahl industriell gefertigter Produkte zeigte, darunter zahlreiche des jungen Architekten.
  • Provenienz2008, Galleria Franco Noero, Turin
  • Obj_Id: 1'031'210
  • Obj_Internet_S: ja
  • Obj_Ownership_S (Verantw):Malerei, Skulptur, Medienkunst
  • Obj_SpareNField01_N (Verantw): 188
  • Obj_Creditline_S: Musuem Folkwang, Essen, Skulpturensammlung
  • Obj_Title1_S: Usha Umbrella Stand
  • Obj_Title2_S: Usha Schirmständer
  • Obj_PartDescription_S (Titelerg): aus der Installation: Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations
  • Obj_SpareMField01_M (Alle Titel): Usha Umbrella Stand part of ›Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations‹ Usha Umbrella Stand Usha Schirmständer aus der Installation: Three Birds, Seven Stories, Interpolations and Bifurcations
  • Obj_Dating_S: 2008
  • Jahr von: 2'008
  • Jahr bis: 2'008
  • Obj_IdentNr_S: P 306/12
  • Obj_IdentNrSort_S: P 306/12
  • Obj_Classification_S (Objtyp): Fotografie
  • Obj_Crate_S:
  • Obj_Material_S: Platin/Palladiumdruck
  • Obj_Technique_S:
  • Obj_SpareSField01_S (Mat./Tech.): Platin/Palladiumdruck
  • Obj_AccNote_S (Erwerb): Erworben 2008 mit Unterstützung der Ernst und Elly Henke-Stiftung, Essen
  • Obj_PermanentLocation_S (Standort):
  • Obj_Condition1_S (Druckerei):
  • Obj_Condition2_S (Auflage):
  • Obj_Subtype_S (Genre):
  • Obj_Rights_S: © Simon Starling, 2010
Text zum Werk
Künstler
Provenienz

Während das Design für den Schirmständer für die Eingangshalle des Manik Bagh Palastes in Indore heute dem Architekten des Palastes Eckart Muthesius zugeschrieben wird, hat der italienische Architekt und Designer Agnoldomenico Pica (* 1907) um 1934 einen ähnlichen, aus einem offenen Metallband bestehenden Schirmständer entworfen. Man geht davon aus, dass der ursprüngliche Schirmständer für den Palast möglicherweise in Paris erworben wurde.

Der Name Usha (himmlische Tochter) war vielleicht ein Verweis auf die Tochter des Maharadschas und der Maharani Usha Devi. Usha ist überdies eine Göttin der hinduistischen Mythologie, die die Vögel willkommen heißt und böse Geister vertreibt. Die Maharini Usha Devi verfügte zudem über einen Cricket-Platz, der nach ihr benannt war.

Die Möbelentwürfe von Eckart Muthesius für den Manik Bagh Palast verdanken viel den hochpolierten Metallkörpern seines Freundes Constantin Brancusi. Stark beeinflusst war Muthesius überdies durch die Arbeiten von Naum Gabo und Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, die in den frühen 1930er Jahren in Berlin ausgestellt wurden. 1934 fand zudem die Ausstellung ›Machine Art‹ im Museum of Modern Art, New York, statt, die eine große Anzahl industriell gefertigter Produkte zeigte, darunter zahlreiche des jungen Architekten.